register to reply
Notifications
Clear all

First time milking, Any Tips?  

Page 1 / 2

Tom
 Tom

milking next week. It is my first time and I am very nervous.

Topic Tags
16 Replies
snozy86

Rotary or herringbone?

1 Reply
Mamatntk20

@snozy86

I prefer herringbone as that’s what I’m familiar with since I was a child however I’d love to have a go at rotary.

Anna
 Anna
Admin

You just have to learn by doing it.

Don't get kicked and good luck!

Habib chaabna

Daaammn i miss that i used to milk my cow manually it's a pleasure .

Farmerjo355
Trusted Member

Don't try to be fast. Just listen to what your told and focus on doing it. Try not to put your head below the bars if its a herringbone. Most of your mistakes will come from rushing, slow and steady until you can do it without looking at the teats is a good plan to start.

Tom
 Tom

I don't know man, my boss wants me to do quicker. Maybe I am a slow learner that I didn't know. I'm still nervous. Maybe it's not for me, will see. Thanks for your support, I will leave a better post next time. Thank you all.

2 Replies
Farmerjo355

Trusted Member

@tom

Being quick at it comes with experience... you're better off not trying to rush until you get the hang of it. Its far better to lose 10 minutes from slow cupping than an hour trying to pull a glove from the plate cooler or waiting for a milk test because you were too rushed to notice a peno slipped into the herd. But good luck! I wish you all the best!

Ahuwhenua

@tom